Bab's Blog

It's just me, in words.

National Health Blog Post Month Day 6 November 6, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — babscampbell @ 9:10 pm

Day 6- Talk about a time when you had to take the high road

This is easy. . .this past few weeks, I have been hurt, offended, surprised and embarrassed by some of the things my friends, family and acquaintances have posted online, and said to my face, regarding the elections.  I chose to allow them their opinion while swallowing my own.

The thing that really bothers me, is that these overly hostile statements, and my choice to not escalate the conversation, slowly erode my own voice.  I detest drama and confrontation.  Therefore, as these conversations have heated up, I have retreated.  I felt that slowly, day by day, my own voice was disappearing as I worked very hard to not “stir the pot.”  I am, for all intents and purposes, the silent voter.

Many people know that I had been an undecided voter, until Saturday, when I pressed the button and made a decision.  I have to say though. . .knowing I was undecided, you’d think they’d offer me a compelling argument as to why I should vote for their candidate.  Instead, I was barraged by ridiculous, hateful statements and judgement of my character.  Really? If you are one of the argumentative people who have recently blasted me, know that your method has not convinced me to vote with you, rather it’s caused me to shut you out and discount your arguments.

I was told that I was an idiot if I believe this, that or the other thing.  I must be stupid if I listen to this guy or that.  I’ve never heard such language. . .the “F” bomb being thrown around like it was the word “is.”  And we all know what the definition of “Is” is.

What really bothers me, is that as I contemplate this method of discussion, I’m afraid we use these same methods for other conversations as well.  Apparently, there’s no need to speak kindly, with compelling arguments and backing it up with real facts and figures.  Let’s just yell expletives, question the listener’s parentage, shake a fist and hope they want to join us, in this messy, cesspool of hatred.

As far as gay rights, abortion, prayer in school, Obamacare, the economic bail-outs, the middle east and legalized marijuana. . .don’t take my silence as a lack of opinion or a lack of knowledge.  I have opinions, I have reasons for my beliefs. . however, I am willing to let you have YOUR opinion too.  I’m also QUITE weary of hearing all the jibberish and ridiculousness.  So, say what you might.  However, your right to speak, ends at my right to stop listening.

Some big decisions will be made tonight.  I hope you’ll all pray for whomever ends up taking an office after tonight.  I hope you’ll accept that the people have spoken.  I hope you’ll continue to pray for these leaders as they take  this great nation into tomorrow.  Write your representatives, let them know how you feel.  But for heaven’s sake, take an argumentative writing class first, so you don’t sound like an idiot!

U.S.A.!

 

2 Responses to “National Health Blog Post Month Day 6”

  1. Well said and thank you for saying it. Just the other day I was talking with a friend about how many times silence truly is golden. I’ve learned through many an experience that sometimes the quiet ones are the ones that know more about what is going on than those who do all the talking.

    • babscampbell Says:

      Thank you Jennifer. I hope when I DO speak up on a subject, I do so with grace and compassion, rather than ignorance and anger.
      Enjoy your “day-after”. . . .time to watch some holiday commercials! I never thought I’d be so happy to see Santa, zipping down the snowy hill on an electric razor! LOL


Leave a comment