Bab's Blog

It's just me, in words.

Today’s Chemical-Free Concoction: Beeswax Lotion January 31, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — babscampbell @ 12:19 pm

I LOVE the website,  A Sonoma Garden! She has so many wonderful recipes and tips, I suggest you go check it out for yourself.  This is where I found the Beeswax Lotion recipe.

Lotion Ingredients

 

 

 

 

1 Cup Olive Oil
1/2 Cup Coconut Oil
1/2 Cup Beeswax
Melt all of these in a glass jar, placed in a small saucepan of hot, but not boiling water.

Melting the oils and wax I actually used an old jar from tomatoes. I’ll have to decorate it to make it look more like a lotion container.  It just feels better when you use something “pretty.”

The beeswax I used came in 1oz bars that had to be grated.  When I measured it out, 1 bar = 1/2 Cup.

Once this has melted completely, remove it from the heat. Continue stirring every 15 minutes. Once it has cooled to room temperature, add the following optional ingredients:

1/2 tsp. Vitamin E oil
20 drops of essential oils
2 tsp. cornstarch

The cornstarch doesn’t appear in her original post, but if you follow the link to her labeling download, she makes a comment that the cornstarch seems to cut the “greasiness” of the lotion. I will go ahead and add it because greasiness is just not sexy.

I am choosing to add some tea tree and lavender essential oils.  I love the two scents and they are both known for being cleansing and antibacterial.

I used Vitamin E Oil from a bottle, but if you’re using Vitamin E tablets, you’ll need to cut open approximately 5 of them to equal the 1/2 tsp.

An added note about Vitamin E Oil:  During my daily radiation treatments I was warned that I would experience burns on my skin.  It was suggested that I apply Aloe and/or Vitamin E directly to the area being radiated to help it heal each day.  Since I’m allergic to Aloe. . . I know, I know. . I’m the only person on the planet who is allergic to Aloe. . .I just used the Vitamin E oil, twice a day. The Dr. said I healed, each day, better than the average patient.  While I know some of that is genetics and I tend to heal quickly, I will attribute credit where it is due.

I’ll let you know how it turns out.  I’m pretty excited!

Next up – deodorant

Be deliberate!

 

Leave a comment