Bab's Blog

It's just me, in words.

National Health Blog Post Month, Day 2 November 2, 2012

Filed under: Diabetes — babscampbell @ 10:01 am
Tags: ,

Day 2-Write about the weirdest thing about your health

Albert Einstein once said “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”  Apparently, Mr. Einstein did NOT know anyone with diabetes.

This has to be the most frustrating piece of the diabetes puzzle.  I can, literally, eat the same thing, at the same time of day, with the same amount of insulin administered and get a different BG (Blood Glucose) reading every time.  And, I’m not talking about a small difference of 10-20 points.  For example, on Sunday, I had oatmeal for breakfast and my BG only went up to 147 before coming back down.   Today, same time of day, same oatmeal, same amount of insulin and my BG shot up to 268, before leveling off and heading back down.

When I mention a high BG, many times, someone will ask, “Well, what did you do?”  Well, oftentimes, nothing different.  So many factors affect your BG throughout the day, other than carbohydrates and insulin; stress, body temperature, infections, sleep. . .I can control some of these factors, but not all of them, all of the time.

So for those of you who’d ask, “What did you do?”  Here’s my answer EVERY.TIME.“I attempted to act as my own pancreas.  However, I AM NOT A PANCREAS and I can only do so much to maintain a healthy BG level.”

As I visited with my Dr. today he made a joke about fixing my low BG by eating a pizza and watching the Chiefs game.  Yep, that’d fix it alright!  The pizza would keep me high for at least 10 hours and the Chiefs?  Hmmmmm  I’m likely to NEVER go low again, if I try to watch them play football.

Which brings us back to the definition of insanity. . .doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.  I’m changing up my game plan, HOW ABOUT YOU, CHIEFS?  I’d like to watch a game without having my blood pressure AND my BG’s rise!

Happy Blue Friday everyone!  Hug someone with diabetes today!

 

2 Responses to “National Health Blog Post Month, Day 2”

  1. Yep, that is SO frustrating.


Leave a Reply

