Bab's Blog

It's just me, in words.

The Final Finish Line. . . October 11, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — babscampbell @ 8:30 pm

Tuesday, was a big day for us.  I had my final reconstruction surgery, to replace the hard-plastic tissue expanders with soft, silicone implants.  I was able to have outpatient surgery and the surgeon, who is brilliant BTW, didn’t need to place any drains, which is GREAT news, because the recovery will be much quicker.

I have to say, I’m a little afraid to look.  From what I’ve seen thus far, they still look like implants, round and riding high, and don’t look very real yet.  But, she assures me that after going without undergarments for a couple of weeks, everything will fall into place. 🙂  (sorry if this is too graphic. . that’s it, I promise.)

There is some worry that is normal at this stage.  Cancer could always reoccur.  I won’t be seeing a Dr. every week, so I feel like something could start growing and I won’t know until it’s large and noticeable.  What if the surgery doesn’t end up looking as normal as I’d like. What if. . . .what if. . . .

We can live our lives, worrying about the “What ifs.”  Or we can hang onto today’s truth.  I choose the latter.  Today, I am cancer-free, I am healthier than I’ve ever been, and while I still deal with diabetes, all-day, every-day, I am managing well. I’m blessed with love, faith and friends and family. I will be starting my running-training again at the end of November.  The Dr. wants me to take a few weeks off, which means I need to start over from the beginning.  But, I think it’s time I start dreaming a little larger as well.  Perhaps we start training for a 10K or a half-marathon.  

The final finish line. . .we’ve crossed it.  Now, we celebrate, dream big dreams, and go make a difference!

 

 

12 Responses to “The Final Finish Line. . .”

  1. Sara Says:

    … and to think of the first time I met you. Was that only a year ago?!

    Also, I would probably agree with the time off from running if we are waiting for things to “fall” LOL!

    • babscampbell Says:

      Yep, I met everyone last October, SimonPalooza! I had my double-mastectomy at the end of September and had been readmitted for a staph infection when you all showed up in my hospital room. . .best surprise EVER! LOL

  2. Wonderful and big dreams to you Barbara! xo

  3. Babs, I love you and your guy so much. You have both been quite an inspiration for me, right from day one.

    • babscampbell Says:

      Awwww. . Thanks Scott! We love you too, so very much. You have no idea how you, likewise, have inspired us. I can’t wait til we can see you again!

      Thanks for your ongoing love and support! Babs

  4. Jess Says:

    congratulations! i hope it’s smooth sailing for you guys for a while. much deserved.

    love you!

    • babscampbell Says:

      Thanks Jess! Me too. . I’m ready to put away the worry, strife and “excitement” for a while. A nice, boring, healthy winter would be FANTASTIC!

      Lets get together soon. . ‘Cause I love you too and I have a new, “softer” hug to give you! 😉

  5. wandikweza Says:

    Indeed Babs, “go and make a difference” you are strong, stronger than before. Malawi is waiting to see you one day!

  6. kofahia Says:

    Babs am happy for you and your family. God is fair in sharing the cake, you been dealing with the bitter part, soon or maybe now you will get the taste of the sweetness…Forget the past and think about the bright future. “Be careful not to get burned! ;o)”

    You are one of the people that I feel joy when seeing, keep smiling

    • babscampbell Says:

      Thanks Ahmad! It was so good to see you again, in Des Moines! This time, let’s stay in touch. You are great fun to spend time with, please let us know if you are ever in town for a visit. We’d LOVE to get together with you!


Leave a Reply

