Bab's Blog

It's just me, in words.

The invitation. . . July 25, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — babscampbell @ 10:27 pm

In a very bright, pink email, from Komen Kansas City Race for the Cure, the invitation arrived today:

“So today’s Survivor Challenge is simple: Tell us your survivor story! Share with us your battle and your journey!”

And really, why would I stop talking NOW, right?  I shared the story of this day:

Image

 

Almost one year ago. . .

One year ago, I was in a wheelchair.  The pain in my feet and legs, from the chemo-induced neuropathy, was debilitating.  I could only stand for a few minutes and walking was almost out of the question.  I was weak, frail and exhausted.  I had just finished eight rounds of chemo and was trying to recover for my upcoming surgery. And, for some reason, I signed up for the Susan G Komen walk.  

I certainly hadn’t planned on participating in the 5k. I had hoped, however, that I could maybe muster the strength to at least complete the shorter, 1 mile walk. We got there early, my DH, Mom and I.  We looked at the displays, picked-up swag from the vendors’ tables and happened upon the Survivor’s Pavilion. I saw it all from my wheelchair.  Why did I venture out while so weak?  Why didn’t I just stay home and rest?

It was time to start the walk and my dear, supportive husband asked if I wanted to try walking or did I need a push?  I just remember thinking, that even getting to the starting line seemed too big  to hope for.  With Mom at my side and occasionally holding my hand, he pushed. . .up a hill, around the corner, down the street,  was able to get up at one point and walk a few minutes, but it wasn’t long before I was out of breath and grasping for the chair again.  Then I saw it. . .

Image 

This is how close we were to the finish line when I told DH that I was going to cross the finish line on my own two feet.  He locked the wheels and helped me up. . .everyone around us watched and cheered me on as I crossed in my own strength.  I turned and said, to whomever would listen, “next year, I will RUN this 5k.”

So, here we are now.  It’s a year later and I can’t believe I’m halfway through my training with WildFIT and preparing for August 12th.  This year I WILL run the 5K . . .I’m so excited, every time I lace up my shoes and go for a run. The anticipation of that moment, when I cross the finish line, is with me every day.  In just a few weeks, I’ll be crossing the finish line on my own two feet again.  But this time, when I turn to look back, I’ll be looking back over the entire year of finish lines that have been crossed.  I suppose I’ll have to dream new dreams now. . .much bigger dreams.

After all. . .I have a whole lot of life ahead of me now. . .

 

 

3 Responses to “The invitation. . .”

  1. Colleen Says:

    Starting my day with a humongous smile after reading this!

  2. […] and sharing her story.  Last year she did the Komen Kansas City Race for the Cure in a wheelchair, fighting up the strength to cross the finish line on her own two feet.  This year, she ran the 5k […]


Leave a Reply

