Bab's Blog

It's just me, in words.

Deliberately getting WILD! June 14, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — babscampbell @ 11:00 am

I did it. . .I finally, just did it. . . .I’ve joined TeamWILD.

When I’d announced to the twitterverse that I had breast cancer last year, a friend connected me with another PWD/Breast Cancer Survivor named Mari Ruddy.  Mari was so nice to follow-up with me now and then, checking on my progress or commenting on my Facebook page.  As I learned more about her, I was inspired.  I was inspired that I could beat cancer, live well with diabetes and really do something with my life after all the treatments were done.  I wanted to, and found that I could, do more than simply SURVIVE cancer.  I finally understood the phrase, “Live Strong.”  That’s what I want.

Last month, we had a chance to meet-up with several PWD, here in the KC area.  My dear friend Scott came down from MN and stayed with us that weekend.   What happened over those too-few days was MAGICAL.  He tried my morning green smoothie and kale chips for the first time, and LOVED them, I might add.  I listened to stories of how his training with TeamWILD was helping him prepare for a 100-mile Tour deCure event.

A little background. . .
When I was first diagnosed with diabetes, I was uber-compliant.  I had become a 3.2 mile walking animal.  I walked every.single.day and if the weather didn’t cooperate, I have some videos I worked with.  However, I was ALWAYS struggling with my BG during the workout and it was SO frustrating.  I tried eating right before I ate, or not taking my bolus insulin with dinner.  I would test before, during and after.  Sometimes I’d be just fine during the workout and crash all night long.  When I started my cancer treatments, I was told, “take it easy,” “don’t over-do,” “let your body recover.”  So, I slept, reclined, slept some more and basically atrophied.  I need to get back into shape, but where do I start?

So, back to our visit with Scott.  He shared his experience with TeamWILD and specifically how he’d learned some nutritional and BG control lessons that really helped him manage BG while exercising. That was the hook.

I went onto the TeamWILD website, just to look at some of the programs they have.  I don’t own a bike, but would love to some day.  They have several walk/run programs, but, THIS ONE caught my eye.

THIS:
Participants should be able to walk around the block and have the interest, physical ability, time and mental desire to work their way to being an endurance athlete. WILDfit is a run/walk program to get you going.

THAT’S ME! 

As I completed the forms yesterday, they asked about my short-range and long range goals.  Right now, I’d like to be able to stand 15 minutes without my back hurting. In the long term,  I’d like to be able to participate in a 5K, or half-marathon, or a marathon. . .basically, I don’t ever want to feel like I “can’t” do something that I know others my age are able to do.

I can just NOW walk about a mile.  We participated in the Relay for Life last week, and I think I probably walked that track 6 times or so. . that’s 1.5 miles.  So, let’s get this party started!

I’m excited to have some accountability.  That’s just how my brain works.  If I don’t have to report to someone, I won’t do it.  If I have accountability, I certainly want to report stellar results, and I work REALLY hard to meet the goals set for me.  So, here we go. . .

Who’s with me. . .it’s always more fun to do things together!

Be deliberate about your fitness!

 

3 Responses to “Deliberately getting WILD!”

  1. BABS!!! I’m SO EXCITED for you! This will be great.

    And yes, I loved all of the healthy food you fed me while I was there! I loved it almost as much as I loved getting to hang out with you and Jon. 🙂

    Go WILD!

  2. Desi Chick Says:

    I’m with you. I’m working hard to stay in shape, to eat well and deliciously and to beat back the cancers that have decimated both sides of my family. It’s always good to have accountability. No matter where we are right now, we can always get better. The battle begins in the mind. “The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world, on the contrary, we have divine power to demolish strongholds.” 2 Cor 10:4 – I’m with you girl. Whoot!


Leave a Reply

