Bab's Blog

It's just me, in words.

A Father’s Heart May 25, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — babscampbell @ 12:58 pm

As I prepare to drive (ride) to St. Louis this weekend, a thought crossed my mind. . .

All this anticipation of spending time with some of our more distant children makes me wonder how God views my time with Him. 

Is He excited, as I am, when a plan is made to spend time together?  When He knows I plan to meet with Him in the morning, does He hover over me all night, just waiting for me to wake up?  Does He follow me around during the morning, knowing that soon, at lunch time, I’ll be focusing my attention on Him, trying to hear His voice?  Does He prepare what He’s going to say to me. . just to make sure I get it right?  Does He have a little excitement in His chest knowing that soon, He’ll have me wrapped in His arms and I’ll be home?

Zephaniah 3:17 says-For the Lord your God is living among you.  He is a mighty Savior.  He will take delight in you with gladness.  With His love, He will calm all your fears.  He will rejoice over you with joyful songs.

Sounds like a hovering Daddy, who can’t wait to hang out with His kids, eh?

We have 4 daughters and a son-in-law and nothing makes me feel more complete than having my arms wrapped around any of them.  There’s just a hole in my heart when they’re not near me and being able to hug on ’em for a little while seems to fill that hole.  This verse says that God, while He is complete and doesn’t need ME to fill a need for Him, feels gladness when I choose to spend time with Him. He waits for me. . He is a gentleman and will never force Himself. . patiently, waiting for me to call out for Him.  He sings over me. . .a song of joy, hope, peace.

It’s strange for me to imagine the maker of the universe would “delight in me with gladness.”

No matter your condition, your history, your future. . .He waits to delight in you too.

Be deliberate about sitting in His presence.

 

2 Responses to “A Father’s Heart”

  1. Debra Says:

    I loved that post, and the idea that God is anxiously waiting to spend time with me, like I get with my kids:) I never thought of it that way:)


Leave a Reply

