Bab's Blog

It's just me, in words.

If I could save time in a bottle. . . April 1, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — babscampbell @ 12:39 am

This year, I am participating in the WEGO Health, Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge.  I will be writing a post each day, following prompts provided by WEGO Health.  If you’d like to participate with me, register here.

Our first prompt is:
Health Time Capsule. Pretend you’re making a time capsule of you & your health focus that won’t be opened until 2112. What’s in it? What would people think of it when they found it?

If I could save anything in a time capsule, I think it would be a collection of the supplies I use today.  Hopefully, in 100 years, it would be opened and the inhabitants would be completely confused as to the contents.  I would hope that in the next 100 years, diabetes and breast cancer would be considered legends of a time long gone.

A syringe with just a bit of insulin in it.
An infusion set. . just keep them guessing.
My wigs, scarves and head covering from the past year of baldness.
My Calorie King book.
A half-eaten twinkie (you know, it would still be tasty, even 100 years from now.)
Copies of all my homemade cleaning supplies, toothpaste, lotion, etc.  I’m sure that in 100 years, they will have learned that their new chemicals and compounds are not meant for human consumption and they’ll be looking for how we got along. . way back when.
Oh, and maybe a bag of my trail mix.  It’s sooo good, they’d love to try it, mostly because it’s NOT soylent green. LOL

My biggest hope would be that in a hundred years, my great, great grandchildren will just be reading about diabetes and cancer in a history book, followed by the phrase, “but that was in the past, we’ve eradicated such diseases from society.”

Now THAT’s a happy ending.

 

3 Responses to “If I could save time in a bottle. . .”

  1. debraaelliott1960 Says:

    This is very interesting.

  2. MelissaBL Says:

    Love the twinkie idea! Yum!


Leave a Reply

