Bab's Blog

It's just me, in words.

In search of health. . . January 24, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — babscampbell @ 6:54 pm

So, I was able to spend some time with my mom, brother and his whole family last week.  B is a pastor in a small town church.  His lovely wife, D, is a very busy lady as she holds down the fort and is homeschooling the children. . .all 7 of them.  Well, one has graduated and one hasn’t started yet, so she’s currently schooling 5.  The kids are bright, beautiful, well-behaved, spiritual people with their whole lives ahead of them.  REALLY. .

What I mean by that, is that B & D have both faced cancer, as well as both sets of grandparents.  Really, the kids are genetically destined for such a fate, however, D works very hard to change that predisposition.

I used to listen, albeit with a half-closed mind, to her explanation of why certain foods were bad, how she ground her own flour from actual wheat, and how Diet Coke would be the death of me.  Well, she wasn’t that dramatic, but I didn’t really listen with a learner’s heart.  However, now that I, too, have faced cancer and diabetes, and I have to look death squarely in the face each day, I find my heart’s door sliding open.  Actually, it’s not been a slow, creeky-door type of open, it’s pretty much a slam it open so hard it hits the wall and bounces back to slam you in the face kind of  “open.”

I spent Tuesday through Friday in their home and I listened as she shared information she’d learned from a nutritionist, as well as flipped through some books she had read.  I was amazed.  My daughter, L, has also tried to tell me some of these same things. . but I hadn’t really heeded her words either.  So, D & L, this is my formal apology for not paying attention earlier. I’m sorry.  You were right.

Here are a few of the changes I’ve made in our home since my return:  (some of these suggestions were based on her consult with her nutritionist and were prescribed for battling inflammation. I took the suggestions into my own food plan to see if it would help with my neuropathy. Doesn’t hurt to try.)

We threw out all the plastic containers we’d been using to store food and purchased glass storage and some newer plastic which do not contain BPAs.  BPAs are bad for you. . very bad.

I got out a big bag of Stevia in the Raw, which is made from the stevia plant and is actually a natural sweetener that isn’t toxic to my body.

I pulled the old cast iron skillet out of the cupboard and pushed the teflon coated versions back.  I had no idea that teflon contained pfcs which were reported today as keeping vaccines from working properly.  Vaccines build antibodies. . .problems with antibodies. . hmmmm and diabetes is an immune disorder.  I must look into this further to see if there’s any link between pfcs causing autoimmune disorders.  Besides, the old cast iron skillet may just help with some of this anemia I’ve been battling too.

I purchased almond milk, which is only 2gms of carb per serving. . much better than cow’s milk.

I’m eating raw nuts, 3X a day.

I’m eating legumes, 3X a day.

Nothing fried, nothing processed.

I’m drinking water, mostly.  I ran out of caffeine free diet coke and did not buy any more when I went to the store yesterday.  I do have an occasional decaf coffee. . but, not as much as before.

I filled my fridge with organic fruits and vegetables.  They cost a bit more, but I can be sure that I’m not adding pesticides and the like to my already weakened body.

Instead of McD’s for breakfast, I made myself a green smoothie: spinach, banana, strawberry, blueberry, protein powder, almond milk, cinnamon. YUM. I was completely satiated and felt fine until lunchtime.

I’m starting to read labels of cleaning and personal products.  If I can’t pronounce it, it’s not touching me. I’ve purchased the ingredients to make my own laundry soap, dishwasher soap,  toothpaste, deodarant, shampoo and body wash, etc.  At least I’ll know what’s in it.  Have you ever looked at a shampoo bottle?  Wow!  I can’t pronounce anything past the first ingredient. . which is water.

It’s only been a few days, but I already have results.  Before I went to visit them, I had been using upwards of 100U of insulin a day.  The week of the visit until today. . I’m using half of that.  No spikes, no 250+ flatlines that refuse to budge.  I’m feeling so much better, and happy knowing that I took some control over my health and my own body.

When I was first misdiagnosed with Type II Diabetes, I followed the food plan with OBSESSION.  I remember a friend, S, a PWD Type 1, saying, “I wish I could eat like a Type II, I’d probably do better.”  That’s been in the back of my mind ever since.  I know I can eat what I want as long as I cover it with insulin.  I’ve learned that.  And occasionally, like last night, I will join in and eat something sweet or fried, but I promise, NO FRENCH FRY IN THE WORLD TASTES AS GOOD AS A 120 BG feels. .really.

Now, I think I need to rethink my basal rates because I keep crashing overnight again.  hmmmm

So, thanks to D, my nephews and nieces have a head-start in beating disease.  They are learning to eat healthy, be careful of the household and personal products they use and they will be running circles around their peers for a very long time.  AND. . thanks to D, I feel like I have a little more control over my own health, well-being and fate.

**Please remember. . my diabetes and cancer treatments are my own.  Your results may vary.  I only offer this information as it has helped me.  Please consult your physician before making any dietary changes.**

 

 

9 Responses to “In search of health. . .”

  1. cesnh Says:

    Throw out the plastic containers? OK, I’ll think about it.
    I’m glad you’re feeling better and doing great!
    McD for breakfast – maybe once a month – but I guess I could make my own…
    You’re an awesome lady, really!

    • babscampbell Says:

      Hey Colleen;
      I had heard about the plastic water bottles being a problem, but you know, since I only drink sodas. . that wasn’t an issue. 🙂
      Here’s a link to some BPA information.

      Thanks for the comment. . when are you coming to town again?

  2. Kssoup Says:

    I’m an very happy to help and support you, but just like B, I will be sneaking out for a hunk of delicious greasy dead cow once in a while! LOL 😉

  3. Debra Says:

    Great post:) I’ve just been at this for a short time, however I believe what I eat is as instrumental to good bg control as using insulin. I have spent this first year (d-versary in a little over a week) just learning how to live with this condition, my goal in my second year is to learn exactly what you have learned. You are awesome!!!

  4. Lorena Stewart Says:

    Healthy lifestyle changes are a plus for everyone! Thanks for sharing!!!!

  5. Sara Says:

    One thing I’ve noticed is that I can eat the same food in America and in another country (and keep everything else the same) and have better results there. I know all our preservatives are messing with our health in ways that we don’t totally understand.

    But…

    I love Burger King too much to give it up quite yet!

  6. Paige Holmes Says:

    Thank You again for sharing, what a great post and WAY TO GO for B & his wife. Yes the diet coke is amazing – I am now on my 10th day of NO SODA, of any kind. I have a video I will find and post for you. Which its all when time is right, I’ve known soda could clean acid off a battery and still drank it daily 🙂
    I love being on the HEALTH quest. Mine is different than yours yet even since my last surgery I am working on having a true Healthy life and living longer without illness. I am working on alkaline foods, I have some raw foodies around me, I’m going to pick up a few trick and some simple recipes. (working on creating balance in life with no stress also… thats for a whole other day!)
    love you always

  7. jen Says:

    Thanks for sharing. healthy lifestyle should start first from the food we ate. There’s a saying, you are what you eat….I have also started eating as much as possible organic foods for about 2 years and I really feel
    better. Drinking water a lot helps cleanse our body system rather than sodas, processed drinks..Remember that disease starts from the food we ate, plus the environment we live in is also factor.
    If we are very careful of our health, I am sure we can live longer and happy life…


Leave a Reply

