Bab's Blog

It's just me, in words.

2012 My One Word January 9, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — babscampbell @ 11:59 am

Last year, I became aware of a campaign. . well, a notion maybe.  I first heard of the “One Word” idea from KLOVE radio.  The thought is this. . rather than make lists, resolutions, and promises in your new year, choose one word.  This word will represent your year and give you an anchor to come back to when you find yourself wondering, “What the heck am I doing?”  It’s like a one word mission statement.  Everything you do, should reflect back to this word.

I didn’t hear about it until late in January last year, and just let it pass without a second thought.  This year, I keep running into references of this idea and it has started to really resonate with me. Here are some of the people who have used this New Year’s idea and how they make it work.

Ali Edwards is sort of a scrapbooking rock star.  I’ve learned alot about journaling, art and seeing my world, just a little differently from her.  http://aliedwards.com/2012/01/one-little-word-2012-the-reading-of-the-words.html

I didn’t know until today, when I googled the phrase “one word,” but apparently, this has grown enough that someone has started a whole webpage, just devoted to it. http://myoneword.org/

Here’s where I originally heard about it: http://www.klove.com/blog/post/2010/01/27/My-One-Word.aspx

Just so you’ll know. . I used actually links, rather than embedding them so you could refer back to them if you need.

So. . .to continue. . .I’ve thought about this more this year, but no one word really came to mind.  In reading Ali’s blog, she suggests writing down a lot of words that mean something to you and one will really pop out and resonate with you.  It should feel like, in Harry Potter, the wizard doesn’t choose the wand, the wand chooses you.  I forget about it for a few days and then it happened.  My word chose me.

My brother-in-law is a Pastor and I frequently listen to his podcasts. He really is thoughtful and insightful and I enjoy his teaching very much.  His latest series is, Deliberately Touching Jesus.  I hope you’ll go listen, just click on “podcast” above.

I was cleaning the kitchen this morning and listening to this series and it suddenly hit me.  Deliberate. Deliberate is my word for 2012.  I want to be deliberate about the things I do; all the things I do.

I want to be deliberate about:
touching Jesus
touching others
loving
caring
supporting
creating
rebuilding
renewing
refusing
accepting
becoming

As my radiation oncologist stated last week.  We’re finally finished “killing” me.  It’s time to rebuild.  As I stated in a previous post, “___ is like cancer”, I hope the physical rebuilding is a far second to the inward rebuilding.  As they reconstruct my body, may I reconstruct my heart to be more compassionate, loving, shaped into HIS image.

I’ve shared this with all of you now, it’s up to you to hold me accountable.

Be Deliberate.

 

 

4 Responses to “2012 My One Word”

  1. Rayna Simmons Says:

    Once again, you have inspired me.

    Yup I still want to Barb when I grow up.

    Thanks again.

  2. That’s a great word… I need to incorporate a little deliberateness into my life. You’ve given me something to ponder, so thanks, Babs 🙂

  3. Lisa Thompson Says:

    Great word Barb! I love it!! You’ve given me something to chew on! Thanks for the inspiration!!


Leave a Reply

