Bab's Blog

It's just me, in words.

It’s the little things. . . October 27, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — babscampbell @ 8:51 pm
Tags: ,

I can’t believe the little things that I have found myself celebrating:

  • I’ve been able to stand in the shower, for the whole shower AND while drying off.
  • My hair has finally grown enough that it lays down on top of my head. (this was today’s celebration!)
  • I changed both my infusion set AND my CGM sensor last night with no “stingers” or “bleeders.”
  • I reached out with my left arm as I worked on things today and the pain is gone.
  • I stopped by my office yesterday and they were in the middle of a computer conversion.  To help with the stress, the wonderful executive team arranged for a reflexologist to come in and give the employees a foot massage. Talk about being at the right place at the right time! They had one opening available and I jumped on it.
For every moment of feeling exhausted, not sleeping, the neuropathy pain at night, the lack of strength during the day, the appearance of my body. . these moments of celebration propel me forward.  One step forward, three steps back?  Feels more like, one giant leap forward, 1 step back.  It’s sort of like watching the stock market; it’s up one day, down the next, but over time, it continues to go up.

So, I guess you could say, my stock is rising.  I like that.

It’s easy to focus on the badness; the pain, the fear, the setbacks, the bad A1c, the high BG, the low BG, the feeling that you’re out of control. . . .

Or, you can realize that things go up and down and up and down, but they’re always trending up.

Think back over your life and think of some times when you were really feeling low.  Aren’t you better off today than you were back then, even on your worst day?

So, I can think back to 2009 when I was diagnosed with diabetes, my A1c was 13.8, I had no idea what to do or if I was going to die.  I changed Drs., got on insulin, met some people who’ve really helped, done alot of research online, read a few books. . and today, I’m managing quite well with an A1c of 6.8.

Then in March of this year I was told I had breast cancer.  Again, I had no idea what that meant, what was in store for me or if I was going to die.  Guess what? I’ve made it through the worst of it. I’ve been told I’m going to live a long and healthy life and now we just work on getting my body back.

Up, down, up, down. . . and so it goes.  Celebrate the “moments of wonderful,” (to borrow a phrase from Sara) even if it seems like a tiny, little accomplishment to others.  In fact, it’s the little things that propel us ever upward.

 

10 Responses to “It’s the little things. . .”

  1. Debra Says:

    That’s so true, it’s the little things that help you get through this life. Every now and then there are BIG things, marriage, children, even illness, but I feel life is filled with more little things than big. When you live with a cronic illness (and I haven’t lived as long as some have) you really look for the little things to make you smile and make it ok. Such as today, my bg# was 138 at 1:38, I just kind of got a kick out it.

    • babscampbell Says:

      138 @ 1:38? that’s AWESOME! I actually think I saw your tweet about that and I was going to reply to you. You’re right, we have so many more little moments than big ones. But, those little ones sure add up quickly!

  2. Rachel Says:

    I think the moments I can recognize those little things means I’ve turned a corner. Whether it was the acute health crisis of a couple years ago, or the mess I find myself in now, or any period of depression I’ve faced – if I can start smiling, appreciating, even chuckling, that’s a corner turned.

    • babscampbell Says:

      It’s nice to realize when you’ve turned that corner and your looking into your future and not focusing on the current moment. It reminds me of when I was learning to ski. I was told, look at where you want to go. If you stare at the trees, that’s where you’ll go. I want to keep looking forward to the day when the current crisis is over and a memory.
      Keep chuckling!

  3. Sara Says:

    You are such an encouragement to me!!

    I love that you are acknowledging and celebrating all this victories big and small!

    • babscampbell Says:

      Thanks Sara! BTW everyone. . this is the Sara I quoted!
      You’re blog has been so wonderful and I just love the title. Thank for letting me use it (and link it) tonight. It was just the right phrase.

  4. you and your positive attitude never cease to amaze me. thanks for the reminder to stop and appreciate the little things.

    love you!

    • babscampbell Says:

      Thanks Jess! Sometimes I write these things so I can come back and be reminded, when I’m not feeling it so much. I appreciate you and all your love and support!
      Love you too Grrrrl!

  5. colleen Says:

    Well, this made me smile this morning! (Even though I’m looking at snow…)
    Thanks for a nice start to my Friday!

  6. Tami Says:

    Loving your attitude!


Leave a Reply

