Bab's Blog

It's just me, in words.

Invisible Illness Meme September 17, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — babscampbell @ 1:00 am

Flipping through my blog reading last night, I found this from Ninjabetic, who got it from Kerri, a meme post called “30 Things About My Invisible Illness: 2011.” I thought this was a great idea for a post and thought I would follow suit.

Diabetes is invisible to most of the world and I think it is important to educate as many people as we can about it. The more they know, the more they will understand.

Anyhow, here goes my 30! 

1. The illness I live with is: Type 1 LADA diabetes

2. I was diagnosed with it in the year:  2009

3. But I had symptoms since: 2008

4. The biggest adjustment I’ve had to make is: learning that math keeps me alive.

5. Most people assume: . That diabetes is easy. . Eat this + take this much insulin = easy blood sugar control.  This is, of course, incorrect.

6. The hardest part about mornings are: Waking up with a number that doesn’t make sense.

7. My favorite medical TV show is: Extreme ER

8. A gadget I couldn’t live without is: My Pump and Dexcom.

9. The hardest part about nights are: fear of a low.

10. Each day I take 1 pill & a billion vitamins.  More like 8 pills and pump insulin 24/7.

11. Regarding alternative treatments I: Pray and eat ALOT of cinnamon. . Even if it doesn’t help, it makes me smile!

12. If I had to choose between an invisible illness or visible I would choose: read my blog dated 9/16/11.

13. Regarding working and career:  A career in helping PWD’s would be awesome! but, I’m happy my company is so supportive of me.  It makes a career with diabetes so much easier.

14. People would be surprised to know: that I can eat what I want.

15. The hardest thing to accept about my new reality has been: most people don’t get it. Even other Drs. I deal with don’t know much about diabetes.

16. Something I never thought I could do with my illness that I did was: make it through chemo with no complications.

17. The commercials about my illness: are really annoying.

18. Something I really miss doing since I was diagnosed is: eating a big plate of pasta, followed by a piece of cheesecake without worrying.

19. It was really hard to have to give up: running around town without a purse.

20. A new hobby I have taken up since my diagnosis is: Blogging

21. If I could have one day of feeling normal again I would: Eat whatever and not think a flipping thing about it.  Ditto

22. My illness has taught me: that I am more resilient than I ever imagined.

23. Want to know a secret? One thing people say that gets under my skin is: “can you eat that?”

24. But I love it when people: are thoughtful enough to learn about diabetes.

25. My favorite motto, scripture, quote that gets me through tough times is: Isaiah 54:10

26. When someone is diagnosed I’d like to tell them: learn all you can, be your own advocate.

27. Something that has surprised me about living with an illness is: the friendships I’ve made, so much love!

28. The nicest thing someone did for me when I wasn’t feeling well was: when I was in chemo and in a drug-induced sleep, my hubby checked my BG every two hours. He’s so good to me!

29. I’m involved with Invisible Illness Week because: I just want to be like NinjaB!

30. The fact that you read this list makes me feel: like you care about people with diabetes!

I am not going to tag anyone but if you have diabetes, have a blog, and don’t have post for today than I would suggest posting this meme with your own 30!

Have a great weekend.

 

Leave a Reply

