Bab's Blog

It's just me, in words.

______ is like a cancer. April 22, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — babscampbell @ 10:16 am

We’ve all heard this phrase before.  You can easily insert any negative emotion, attribute or lack of virtue in the blank and it works.

Anger is like a cancer.
Hatred is like a cancer.
Jealousy
Fear
Bitterness. . .

As I’ve learned more about this disease, I was actually surprised to learn this one fact.  Cancer isn’t an organism unto itself.  It is not a parasite or an animal or a virus or bacteria.  It starts from your very own cells.  This is really an oversimplification. . but. . .The DNA in your cells forms a mutation, an abnormality.  Then as that cell divides and grows more cells, they all have the new DNA mutation and those cells form tissue, which eventually become a tumor.    

Our bodies are constantly striving for homeostasis; a state of normal.  So, these errant cells are seen as foreign, not normal, and the body’s defense systems are called upon to wage war against this intruder.  Sometimes, the body wins and you never know that this process has happened.  Sometimes the body doesn’t win. . and you end up in the Drs. Office.

 I’m sure you see where I’m going with this already.

One errant comment spoken, one moment of unforgiveness, one green-eyed moment of jealousy can mutate who we are, our spiritual and emotional DNA.  It grows inside us becoming more invasive.  Our own systems may try to fight it.  We see that person, you know, the one who said, “_____” and we take a deep breath, and resolve that we’ve forgiven them.   But, they leave our sight and we have to share the hurt, spew the anger, rally our forces to understand how horrible it was. The cancer spreads. . .

In treating cancer in the body, there are specific steps that are taken:

  1. Identify that it IS cancer and the type of cancer
  2. Identify all locations of said cancer. Check for metastasis.
  3. Identify a treatment plan to either remove the cancer, or kill it.
  4. DO NOT WASTE ANY TIME.
  5. Provide the tools needed for this attack.
  6. Follow through with the treatment plan.

 I’ve had bitterness in my own life.  I’ve taken too long to forgive and I’ve been jealous of many.  I have to say that in many cases. .the defense systems have worked and the young cells that would become a raging beast have been destroyed early on.  However, there are a few hurts that go so deeply and that I’ve allowed to grow so large and spread throughout my heart that it will take a major treatment plan to be rid of them.  As I embark on this adventure of chemo, surgery and radiation,  I want to use these physical treatments as triggers to remind me to be rid of the emotional tumors in my life too.  I ask you, dear reader, friend, family member. . hold me accountable. 

I pray that by the end of the year, I’ll walk out of the Dr.’s office hearing that I’m cancer-free and I can know that my heart, spirit and emotions are too.

 

9 Responses to “______ is like a cancer.”

  1. Crystal Says:

    xoxoxoxo

    Well said, my friend.

  2. Simon Says:

    An amazing post!
    And it is all of our prayers that you walk out of the docs office cancer free. You are an inspiration through both your writing and attitude

  3. Meri Says:

    Cancer changed our view of everything. Forgivness came easier as we realized how fragile everything was. My husband battled cancer just a couple short years ago. It is a heatbreaking awful journey, but one that changed us…it brought us closer and let us see look past all the clutter in our life. When the doctor called us crying at 9:30 at night, we thought it was the end. Turns out, it was just the beginning. Much love to you as you begin your treatment!

    • babscampbell Says:

      Thanks for this comment Meri. I would have to agree. . everything I know face has a new perspective. Pettiness, and things that may have caused stress in the past, just doesn’t seem worth it to me now. I’m going to steal your statement that what we thought was an ending, is now just a new beginning. Thank you for sharing your story with us!

  4. Mike Says:

    This is a great analogy. You may have found a new calling in being a writer. Mike

  5. Mary Gunn Says:

    Thinking about you and your big day tomorrow. Keep moving forward!
    God bless

  6. Scott Bosworth Says:

    Brilliant. And for what it’s worth, I believe this to come from a very courageous person. Be well!


Leave a Reply

