Bab's Blog

It's just me, in words.

Wrapped In Love March 26, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — babscampbell @ 7:56 pm


I have been so blessed to have so many people, from every era of my life, and even some I’ve not yet met, praying, fasting and cheering me on. Thank you all. Last night I was given a very precious gift, which I’d heard of before, but will admit I didn’t really understand until now.

A fellow D-blogger came in to town this week to visit her son. I was thrilled to finally meet Colleen, one of my first blog subscribers, faithful reader & encourager. We gathered our usual D-Posse, and had some KC BarBQ. One of my dear friends arrived with a bag. “I brought you something, and it’s PINK,” said Jessica. I reached in the bag and she continued, “it’s a prayer shawl.”

Inside the bag was a hand-knit shawl and a letter which explained:
As we knit these shawls, we pray over them, for healing, peace, strength, comfort, joy, safety, and whatever else the Father leads us to pray. The shawls are given to the Pastors who also pray over them before they are given out. As you wear this shawl, may you feel God’s love wrapped around you, holding you, supporting you and giving you strength. May you also be reminded that the Old Mission church family is praying for you.

And, Immediately I thought of all those who have offered their prayers, their favorite scriptures, their time, their help. . I AM indeed wrapped in love.

I’m not the superstitious type and I don’t think objects contain mystical properties, but I do appreciate physical reminders of God’s presence in my life. So, I will carry this with me, whenever I can. Each piece of yarn, each knot representing you, and each of my friends and family members placing me at the foot of the Throne of Grace each day. Thank you Jessica for giving me this reminder to wear, whenever I am alone, afraid, in pain. . .that I am wrapped in Love.

 

7 Responses to “Wrapped In Love”

  1. Jess Says:

    now you’ve made me cry! i’m so glad you love it!

    you are my hero! πŸ™‚

  2. Mike Durbin Says:

    Such a wonderfully thoughtful gift.

    I wanted to share this video with you, because it has helped me through the many dark nights that I’ve had since I was diagnosed with congestive heart failure. The song is titled “Don’t Be Afraid” and was written by Roger Bennett, the pianist in the video, who had Leukemia. He was given this message to share about a year or so before he was diagnosed, not knowing who it was intended for. Turns out, it was for him. And for all of us living through dark times in our lives. No matter what we are going through, it is important to know that we are never alone. That there is a higher power who has it all under control. Which reminds me of two more links to share. πŸ™‚ I hope they help you as much as they’ve helped me. My thoughts and prayers are with you, my friend. -Mike

    Don’t Be Afraid

    Under Control

    Between Me and The Storm

  3. That is so moving. What a heartfelt gift.


Leave a Reply

