Bab's Blog

It's just me, in words.

The fight of my life. . . March 15, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — babscampbell @ 5:15 pm

This mustn’t register on an emotional levelFirst, distract target. Then block his blind jab. Counter with cross to left cheek. Discombobulate. Dazed, he’ll attempt a wild haymaker. Employ elbow block, and body shot. Block feral left. Weaken right jaw. Now fracture. Break cracked ribs. Traumatize solar plexus. Dislocate jaw entirely. Heel kick to diaphragm. In summary, ears ringing, jaw fractured, three ribs cracked, four broken. Diaphragm hemorrhaging. Physical recovery: six weeks. Full psychologicalrecovery: six months. Capacity to spit at back of head: neutralized.

Do you think you know what the victim felt at the end of this violent barrage?  I think I do. . .
It’s the same feeling you get when you’re sitting in a nice, sterile, yet poorly decorated, Drs. office talking with an otherwise pleasant individual wearing a white coat with his name. . “. . . MD” embroidered over the left pocket.  There are some pictures of your breasts hanging on the wall.  The soft glow of fluorescent lighting peering through the fibrous tissue. . and. . oh yeah, that big bright spot in the middle there.  That’s the one. . the one he calls. . C A N C E R.  Oh but, that’s just the beginning. . then he spins around and delivers the sucker-punch. . there’s also a 3cm lump in your lymph nodes.
If you’ve read anything I’ve ever written. . you’ll know that I’m not shy or private with my info.  I just put it out there. So here goes:
There’s a very ugly 2.3cm lump and a 3cm lymph node on my left side.  I have a biopsy scheduled for Monday because they want to determine what kind of cancer it is and that will help determine the best course of action.  Oftentimes, they try to do chemo first to shrink the tumor, then remove it, then do radiation.  I’m a great candidate for treatment and the only question will be how chemo will affect my BG’s.
You may ask WHY do I share so much personal information?  Well, when I was first diagnosed with diabetes, I was scared, felt horrible all the time and didn’t know what was happening or how to fix it.  I had feelings that I didn’t know were normal, emotions that I thought were out of control and questions about every single thing I put in my mouth.  If it weren’t for some other individuals sharing themselves in this manner, I would be a mess.  These, now friends of mine, shared who they are, how they cope and feel and helped me see that I am normal. . even with diabetes.  If I can help someone else feel normal about diabetes or breast cancer by sharing my story. . it’s worth it to me.
So now that I’ve been scraped off the floor. . it’s time to fight back.  I get one day to blubber and be a baby and then WATCH OUT!   Here I come. .
Hey Cancer. . take this!
Yours truly. . ME
 

11 Responses to “The fight of my life. . .”

  1. colleen Says:

    Sucky news. Thank you for letting us know.
    Good vibes and prayers for you.
    I still want to meet you next week! (if you have time…)

  2. Jaimie Says:

    Divide and conquer baby! xoxo Hugs and cont’ prayers…

  3. Tiffany Says:

    Hey Barb… Mom informed me of your Blog… I LOVE how you put yourself out there. You are SOO Brave & I am Proud of YOU for sharing, it’ll help You & so many others. I know you and Aunt Judy will Kick some MAJOR BOOTY!
    LOVE YOU…..GREAT BIG HUGS TO YOU!

  4. talesofmy30s Says:

    Well, crud. Thinking of you!

    (And just think, you’re going to be one of the first to talk about having the big D and the big C. New territory, as unfortunate as it is.)

    • babscampbell Says:

      That is an interesting thought. I was about to look online for people with both to see what chemo might do to my glucose levels.
      Thanks for your good wishes!

  5. Rayna Says:

    Barb,
    I am so sorry for the news. I was so hoping that like me, it was nothing to be concerned about. I applaud you for being open and honest. I am sure that it will help someone, somewhere. I will keep you in my prayers.

  6. Shelly McLain Says:

    So sorry to read this Barb. Stay strong and positive and you can overcome anything!! There are a lot of great online support groups too!
    *BIG HUGS**BIG HUGS**BIG HUGS**BIG HUGS**BIG HUGS*
    *BIG HUGS**BIG HUGS**BIG HUGS**BIG HUGS**BIG HUGS*
    *BIG HUGS**BIG HUGS**BIG HUGS**BIG HUGS**BIG HUGS*
    *BIG HUGS**BIG HUGS**BIG HUGS**BIG HUGS**BIG HUGS*

  7. Jess Says:

    so sorry barb! 😦 will be praying A LOT for you! and next time i see you, a hug tackle is in order! let me know if there’s anything i can do! you have my #. call any time!!!!

  8. Oh Babs… we’re here for you and your family

    {{HUGS}}

  9. Pearlsa Says:

    My thoughts are with you Barb. My mom went through chemotherapy with diabetes for stage 3 breast cancer. Chemotherapy was very hard on her blood sugars some of her pre chemotherapy Meds also cause high blood sugars.

    Constantly testing and adjusting meds before and for a few days after treatment and keeping food down was key.

    Her treatment sound similar to yours it was chemotherapy first to shrink then radiation before Masectomy.

  10. Babscampbell Says:

    Thank you all for your support & encouragement. I feel stronger every day!


Leave a Reply

