Bab's Blog

It's just me, in words.

Diabetes Awareness Month, Day 1 November 1, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — babscampbell @ 8:44 am

On this, the first day of Diabetes Awareness Month, I want to thank all my family and friends who have reached out to support me this past year.  You have all blessed me more than you’ll know.  I appreciate the low-carb meals, your willingness to speak a bit more distinctly when you sense my BG might be high and I’m struggling to understand (and really, trying to not fall asleep while you talk),  and the rush for Smarties when you see my hands shaking and I break out in a sweat.

 Blood glucose is a tricky monster to control and I’m not a pancreas, don’t want to be a pancreas and can’t always regulate it as well as I’d like.  You can perform all the calculations, dose your insulin according to your prescription, eat the same thing day after day, and you’ll never get the same result twice.  It’s also interesting that a food that may cause a huge spike in my BG levels may not affect someone else at all.  It seems we live each moment, bite-by-bite, insulin unit-by-unit, guessing, testing and trying again.

 My Husband and I have a small goal to reach.  We’d like to get to the point at which my diabetes is more of an annoyance than an obsession.  I’d love to get to the point where testing, bolusing, calculating carbs, etc. happen and are part of my day, but don’t so overtake my thoughts.  We’re getting there. . slowly but surely.  I recently shared a meal with someone; I calculated, tested and bolused and the person I was with was surprised and noted that they never even saw me do it.  I think she was a little disappointed to not be a part of that process.  That’s ok. . she shouldn’t be.  I didn’t get to help HER pancreas do all that either. 

 And then I think. . .It’s as if I can see that finish line ribbon being stretched across the track.

 

2 Responses to “Diabetes Awareness Month, Day 1”

  1. Sarah Says:

    I’m trying to do the same thing to by not letting diabetes control my every move. It’s hard to keep good bg control without obsessing over it, but it’s something that we have to try to balance for the sake of those around us.

    Good luck on your journey to the fninsh line. 🙂

  2. It will get easier with time – where you won’t even think about what you are doing so much – it’ll just work in the background. It’s easy for me to say this because I’ve lived with diabetes most of my life – but having met and helped newly diagnosed diabetics to the world of “what me? – a human dart board to practise on – say it’s not so!!!” – things eventually will settle into place.

    The main thing is, your doing the right thing, and educating yourself, and passing on what you learn to others (I’m still learning new things even with being an old fart 🙂 “timer” of the D).


Leave a Reply

