Bab's Blog

It's just me, in words.

FEBRUARY? REALLY? July 28, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — babscampbell @ 11:16 pm

I can’t believe I haven’t posted since February.  It seems like I just took a few weeks off, but then, before you know it. . .it’s JULY.  So much has happened, so many stories to tell, so many people touching my life.

The biggest moments of late are:

I’ve been on the Animas Ping pump for several months now and while I’m still eating like a crazy person, just because I can, it does give me a little more control of my glucose levels.  I’m still battling highs, but the lows are less frequent and usually occurring during exercise.  I need to remember to take the pump off when I work out.

Let’s see. . our #3 (in age, not in affection) daughter moved to live with us in Kansas.  I can’t tell you what a joy it is to have her here.  She starts a new job tomorrow and I couldn’t be more proud of her.  She is a dog-trainer by trade, will begin working at a local doggy-day-care/kennel and pick up some private training clients.   We were so excited to see that her very first business cards had arrived in the mail yesterday.  She’s truly livin’ the dream.

Speaking of moving. . Daughter #4 (the baaaby) is leaving the nest this fall.  She’ll be attending Eastern Nazarene College in Boston, Mass.  Daddy and daughter traveled to VIP orientation a few weeks ago, picked up the schedule, met her room-mate, decided on a dorm room and otherwise, dreamed  of the day, in the the not too distant future that she’d be starting her new adventure.  We are certainly going to miss her around here.  I’m sure frequent trips to Boston are in store for us.

Our #1 daughter (again, in age. . we don’t have a favorite) is home from her one-year tour in Iraq.  We were able to attend her redeployment ceremony and there were so many cheers, tears and hugs.  It was fun to mingle with other family members from 82nd Airborne, HHC 1BSTB and hear their stories.  They had an area, outside, for the family members to stand so we could watch the plane circle overhead and then swoop in for a landing.  As the wheels touched down, the crowd went wild with excitement!  There were flags being waved and home-made signs everywhere to wish them all the best as they left the plane. They lined up in formation, marched into the hangar and spent just a few minutes with us before heading off to turn in equipment, etc.  It was just wonderful to see them all home, safe, smiling and ready to enjoy some family time.

Our #2 daughter has been busy with weddings and baby showers this summer.  She is such a loving friend and has been so available to some of her closest friends during this very exciting time in their lives.  She’s been throwing showers, dressing up and assisting as Maid-of-Honor and attending ceremonies and receptions, like its a full-time job.  But, we’re happy she’s made plenty of time to hang-out with us too. We’ve hit a few movie theaters and attended a political event together recently.  Her insight is always thought-provoking.

In other news. . I’ve started a new position with Alterra Bank, here in Overland Park.  I’m really excited to be working with this fantastic group of people.  The name, Alterra, means higher ground and we all want to be provide “higher ground” service to our customers.  I’m the assistant to the executive team and provide a wide variety of support for them.  I do everything from ordering supplies to working with the marketing teams, the board of directors and opening new accounts.  We all wear many hats right now, but that keeps each day exciting and fresh.  I’ve met some really great people who are so supportive of what we’re trying to accomplish.

I’ve started a Diabetic Support group and will be adding a page to my blog for news and updates for this group.  We meet the 1st and 3rd Wednesdays of the month, 7-8pm at College Church of the Nazarene, Olathe, Kansas, Room K102.  We’d love to have you come by and get acquainted.  I’ll be posting the subjects for each meeting, any announcements, food tastings, etc. on this blog. . so, stay in touch!

Finally, for tonight’s update, I’ll be attending my 30 year reunion.  Wow, I can hardly believe it’s been 30 years already.  I’m very excited to spend some time with my friends. . .in person. . rather than on Facebook.  I love that we all keep in touch and many of them have been so supportive of me over the years.

Well, that’s the quick run-down of what’s happened since February.  I’ll try to post more often and with greater substance in the days ahead.  Hugs to all!

 

2 Responses to “FEBRUARY? REALLY?”

  1. Scott Says:

    who are you again?

    LOL, sounds like you have been plenty busy!


Leave a Reply

