Bab's Blog

It's just me, in words.

A Confession. . .of sorts. . . November 13, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — babscampbell @ 1:54 pm

Forgive me D.O.C. and Amazon Warriors for I have gone MIA.  It’s been 9 months since my last blog post.

I was mentioned in a tweet today, which led me to a blog post written by my friend Ninjabetic, and I am overwhelmed with his kind words. I’m so grateful for the support I receive from the DOC and I’m sorry I haven’t been involved recently, enough to return the love. Oh sure,  I’ve shared some items on Pinterest with a few of you.  I’ve commented a time or two on Facebook, but I really haven’t been all that active online.

 I’ve been off the grid for a while, for several reasons, a few of which I will disclose today.

  • I kept thinking over this past year that I wanted to “re-invent” myself, start a new blog, find a new voice. 
  • It felt that my disease processes were taking over my life and all I ever talked about was a new symptom, a pain, an uncontrollable urge to throw my CGM through a window. . . .you know. . . .  Is it not bad enough to have all this going on in my body, and then that’s all I talk about, everywhere, with everyone, in the whole wide world?  So, I chose to disappear from the blogosphere and Twitter for a while to relieve some of that pressure.
  • I have battled a bit of depression, but feel that cloud lifting, slowly but surely
  • I have fought with my writing persona about the need to be positive vs. telling it like it is

I have, in recent days, stated more than once, that I wanted to start writing again and renew those online friendships I so value.  But, nothing has really given me the kick I needed until today (Thank you George!)  So, here goes. . .

Here I am. . .it’s just me. . .in words.

 

5 Responses to “A Confession. . .of sorts. . .”

  1. Brenna Says:

    You are amazing!!
    Love you big.

  2. I understand completely. I feel like I’ve had a similar path over the last year. I was doing diabetes related research, talking about diabetes at work, at home, online, offline. While I am still totally committed to diabetes research, I want more real-person friendships with everyone that are not ‘betes-centric. I, too, have had a major health issue this year that has plummetted me into a deep depression. Like you, the fog is starting to lift slowly, but I still deal with it each day.

    Hang in there. We are with you, too.

  3. Colleen Says:

    I hope you’ll write about whatever makes you happy.

  4. Debra Says:

    Hey you. Don’t apologize for living your life. Don’t apologize for not wanting to talk about diabetes or cancer. As I mentioned when we met, my happiest moments of my day are the ones where diabetes is furthest from my mind. You don’t owe anyone anything other than just being the lovely woman you are. Even if you’re off the grid we know you are there. Though its nice to see/read you again;)

  5. Sara Says:

    I REALLY miss you but I am happy you are doing whatever is best for you!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,911 other followers