Bab's Blog

It's just me, in words.

The One That’s NOT About Chemo-Brain February 1, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — babscampbell @ 1:46 pm

So, Chemo-Brain is a real and ridiculously frustrating side-effect of chemo-therapy.  For many years, it was thought to be related to the patient’s age and them experiencing more “senior moments.”  However, in more recent years, there has been more scientific and clinical evidence to support “chemo-brain” as a common side effect.

This time though. . .it wasn’t about chemo-brain.

I was getting ready to send out some checks this afternoon at work.  I process accounts payable for my company and, as you can imagine, today being Friday AND the 1st of the month, I was fairly busy.  I was sealing the envelopes with a glue stick, which was now dry and gooey.  So, I went into the conference room storage closet to get another.

And. . that’s where I stood and stood;  in front of the storage closet, staring blankly into the many shelves of supplies.   Let’s see, there’s paper, pens, pencils, envelopes, post-it notes, batteries, file folders. . .why did I come in here again?  It’s easy to blame this on chemo-brain, but this sort of thing happened to me long before I ever enjoyed the pleasure of toxins being pumped into my blood stream.

Come to find out. . .it’s really “A Thing.”

It appears that the culprit is, indeed, the DOOR.

You think about something in one room and as you pass through the doorway, your brains “resets,” takes in the information from this new space and starts encoding it as memories.   All this makes you forget why you went in there in the first place!

I finally remembered the glue, stamped all the envelopes and dropped them in the mail slot.  Now, where did I put my keys?

 

3 Responses to “The One That’s NOT About Chemo-Brain”

  1. kssoup Says:

    NO COMMENT
    is my comment…..LOL

  2. The DOOR! of course! This makes total sense to me. :-)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,910 other followers