Bab's Blog

It's just me, in words.

Inspiration April 2, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — babscampbell @ 9:01 pm

Day 2 of the Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge
Quotation Inspiration. Find a quote that inspires you (either positively or negatively) and free write about it for 15 minutes.

So, here is my inspirational quote:

Life is unpredictable.  You never know when you’ll be facing challenges in your relationships, your finances, your health.  You can live in fear of every known disease, every known betrayal of mankind, every bill collector; but is that “living” or existing?

I choose to LIVE.

I have my challenges, like everyone else.  Some might say, I’ve had more than my fair share, but I would disagree.  I’ve had a pretty good life thus far.  Sure, I’ve face some giants:

Type 1 Diabetes
Cancer

and some smaller foes:

non-specific connective tissue disease from 1986-1995
anemia
peripheral neuropathy (currently)
financial worries
a former job, in which I was MISERABLE
a divorce
a child serving in a warzone
a child hitchhiking cross-country
moving away from my home to a new city
a fall and a broken wrist. . right after I’d said, I don’t know how much more I can take.

There are other things out in that big world out there that scare me more than any of these combined.  I can’t imagine burying my child. I shudder to imagine a prognosis of a few months to live.  These are real situations that people deal with every day.  I’m so fortunate that I haven’t had to.

How much more can you take?

Well, you know what?  Now, I know how much I CAN take. . and more.

In the military, they train soldiers to fight fatigue, hunger, thirst and fear by putting them in the most horrific of circumstances.  How do you know what you’re capable of unless you’ve truly pushed your limits to the edge and back?
Having had the battle for my life in this last year, I feel that I’ve reached just short of that edge and come back.  Each new day is a gift that I cherish.

You never fight alone.

Just as our military learns to trust their brothers/sisters in arms. . so, we much learn to trust those around us. It’s hard to ask for help.  Really. . .really hard.  Not because you’re afraid the answer will be no, but, because it’s hard to admit you can’t do this alone.  You surround yourself with people you trust, who love you, who have your best interest at heart.  Trust them to do that.

I would not be where I am today without my faith, my hubby, family, friends and even some total strangers.  When you find you’re at the end of your ability to fight, they encourage, carry, and care for you.  No one suffers alone.  If you are suffering, just know that those who love you suffer right alongside you. As you heal, so do they.  We were never meant to be solitary in this world.  We were meant to share and play well with others.

I promise you, life will hand you sadness or disease or fear or uncertainty.  What you do with it. . well, that’s up to you.

I choose to fight. . .and win.

 

2 Responses to “Inspiration”

  1. Amber Says:

    I love this quote. Actually I love everything in this post. You got me tearing up at the part about asking for help. That is something I still struggle with. Thanks for writing this.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,910 other followers